What’s the beeswax on The Buzz’s new editor-in-chief?

Hannah Blaser, a senior working on double majors in strategic communication and creative writing, as well as a minor in journalism, is the newest editor-in-chief of The Buzz. Taking over for the newly-graduated Amanda Bertolozzi, Blaser is ready to conquer the challenge this semester. So, to welcome her into this new position, let’s take some time to get to to know the watchful eye behind our favorite newspaper.

Edinburgh, Scotland.jpg

Enjoying ice cream in Edinburgh, Scotland


Q: How long have you been involved with The Buzz?
A: I have been writing for The Buzz for two years now.

Q:  What is your favorite subject to write about?
A: I love writing features, because they give me a little more creative freedom. But lately, I have been doing more politically based articles, which I also enjoy.

Q: How do you think your experience with The Buzz has helped you through college and will help you in future endeavors?
A: My experience with The Buzz has helped me step out of my comfort zone a bit. I’m an introvert through and through, but The Buzz put me in a position where I had to talk to people for interviews. And this year it’s put me in a leadership position, which is something I don’t think I’d have sought otherwise. I think that the values I’ve learned through The Buzz will help me in the future. I now know how to interview people, how to be effective in a leadership position (I hope) and I respect deadlines. I hope these skills will transfer well into a job.

Q: What is a piece of advice you’d give to students looking to join The Buzz or have an interest in journalism in general?
A: The hardest part is deciding to do it, so just take that first step and come to a meeting or decide to pursue that career path! I was really nervous to join the paper, but after that first meeting everything felt so much easier.Writing articles, interviewing, and taking good photos can all be challenging, but when you’re working with a team, there are always people to help you when you get stuck. And if anyone is interested in joining The Buzz, I’d love to meet with you and tell you all about it!

Q: Is there any article or photo you have done for The Buzz that stands out to you?
A: When I was studying abroad in Scotland, I did a feature story every issue about my travels. I think that really stands out to me because it was really personal, and it was something I really enjoyed writing. Those stories forced me to take a step back and reflect throughout my semester, which was really good for me.

Arthur's Seat.jpg

Blaser at Arthur’s Seat

Q: Last one, what is an interesting fact about yourself?
A: Something not everyone knows about me is that I started playing the violin when I was five. I haven’t picked it up in awhile, so who knows how good I still am, but I really liked playing throughout my childhood. I started off with classical music and eventually started playing more folksy music.


The Buzz is the official student-run newspaper of St. Ambrose University. Under adviser Alan Sivell, The Buzz stands for free speech, and the responsibility of a nation to have an informed public. The Buzz does not necessarily represent the opinions and stances of St. Ambrose University. The Buzz comes out on the first and third Thursday of every month during the semester. Visit The Buzz online at www.sauthebuzz.com.
Leave a Reply

